danaxlifestyle.blogg.se

Ewqlso
Ewqlso












  1. Ewqlso pro#
  2. Ewqlso series#

The on-line demos are not very impressive, frankly. I had meant to check it out further the other night, but keep forgetting about it as it hasn't generated enough buzz to stay in my consciousness. This one got very good reviews in spite of some minor flaws, and is competitive with the mid-range versions of EWQLSO and possibly Vienna's entry-level library. Steinberg Halion Symphonic Orchestra, only $300 cross-grade license! 27 GB library. IT also misses a huge number of articulations, so is more for entry-level people rather than people upgrading a cheaper library or a ROMpler.Īnother option presents itself at such an affordable cost that it might be a good stop-gap for those of us with underpowered computer systems that might be a bit weary of the Big Three until first upgrading to more powerful computers: In other words, I may have neither time or a properly spec'ed computer to work with VSL (certainly I cannot run convolution reverbs on my current computer).Īt any rate, the info on VSL's new cheaper edition is a bit confusing from what I can see on-line, so I'm not entirely clear what you get for the price, and whether it credits towards later purchases, or even whether it is better augmented with various one-offs from the Horizon series.įor what it's worth, SI also has a new cheaper edition, but I think it is meant to compete more at the low-end of the market than the mid-end, as it is a bit GM-purposed. I have considerable mixing skills, but time matters too :-). I figured it's still pretty revealing, but I do have reservations about whether the "Hollywood" sound of EWQLSO might not fit into as many projects as either SI or VSL. So I am stuck using 2" Apple speakers for listening to on-line demos. I am at a slight disadvantage at the moment, as I sold my MOTU 828 mk II two days ago and my RME Fireface 800 won't arrive for a few more days. For my purposes, it is a tough choice and probably I'll eventually need more than one choice, as I have my hands in multiple genres, including orchestrated soundtracks (so far only for local indie films). But MSI has some unique features and I'll probably keep it even after buying EWQLSO: many harpsichord and virginal models historic instruments such as Krumhorn very dry percussion (and therefore useful in pop and rock contexts and also for click tracks) reasonably good choirs (I think you have to buy Symphonic Choirs from either Vienna's version or EastWest's version to add that capability to either of their symphonic libraries). The orchestral samples are 100% useless and I never use them my Kurzweil PC2r is 1000% better even though the samples are tiny in comparison. The one thing I can say in MOTU Symphonic Instrument's favour is that it was NOT a waste of $250. I too had mistakenly dismissed EWQLSO until recently, due to disappointing results when using the version that came with either the Finale or Sibelius demo (I forget which maybe both?). Once you start interpolating samples between notes, you're really pretty far away from the original sessions at that point, and are down at the bottom tier of sample libraries. I heard those demos and they did not impress. I wouldn't judge EWQLSO by the Silver Edition. You can also layer the Sonic Implants stuff in such a way as to create the "Big Hollywood Sound" that you essentially get by default with Quantum Leap. I know all the engineers involved and they are top in their field. I strongly urge you to look at their offerings though, as she used a smaller scale ensemble and a famous acoustical space for recording them.

Ewqlso series#

In some ways I prefer my friend Jennifer Hruska's Sonic Implants series over either Quantum Leap or Vienna, but I feel it wouldn't meet enough of my core goals and thus I am considering it instead as a later supplement for more flavours. I thought I would prefer dry, so was surprised. I feel that the way instruments interact plays an important role in how natural the reverb sounds although I understand that Vienna wasn't just providing more flexibility for convolution reverbs but also needed a dry sound for their sample switching algorithms to be smooth. I spent a few hours the other night going through all the specs, reviews, and demos, and decided EWQLSO (preferably Platinum, but even Gold would be a huge step up from MOTU Symphonic Instrument) was the way to go.

Ewqlso pro#

Where did you find the Platinum Pro bundle for $1300? I am planning to buy it in the next few days, and have only seen it as low as $1500 (Sweetwater).














Ewqlso